Classical orchestrations

Schumann Cello Concerto
Arranged for violin and strings
Commissioned by Anthony Marwood, the Irish Chamber Orchestra and the Australian Chamber Orchestra
Premiered by Anthony Marwood and the Irish Chamber Orchestra, April 2009

Mendelssohn A Midsummer Night's Dream
Overture and complete Incidental Music

CHAMBER ORCHESTRA VERSION - 50 minutes 7 wind (fl/picc, ob, 2 cl, bsn/contra/triangle/susp cymb, 2 hrn), strings and soprano. Strings either 9 players (22221) made for Stanley Hall Opera orchestra 2006, 11 players (33221) made in 2007 or 18 players (55431), made for the Irish Chamber Orchestra 2008.

VERSION WITH TWO ACTORS (1 hour 15 minutes) The complete story told by two actors, with Mendelssohn's complete music in versions as above.

VERSION WITH SEVEN ACTORS (two halves of approx one hour each) Made by Storytellers Theatre Company 2008 in collaboration with the Irish Chamber Orchestra. Full production with costumes & props. Easily tourable to medium and large scale venues.

Review by the Irish Examiner
'A bewitching, beguiling night's theatre is the best way of describing the collaboration between Storytellers Theatre Company and the Irish Chamber Orchestra. It was a magical experience. Right from the four chords that set the magical atmosphere of the overture to Puck's final soliloquy we were in a place apart, a place where theatrical and musical magic happened. Overall the production was remarkably inventive, and the seven actors who played the 20 roles were extraordinarily athletic, never allowing the pace to slacken. And of course, the shimmering, sensitive brilliance of the ICO's playing was a joy throughout.'

All versions resuscitate all of the wonderfully rich and varied music normally ignored when the concert suite is played.

Holst unpublished movement from ‘Brook Green Suite’
parts based on original manuscript